MAINE DEPARTMENT OF INLAND FISHERIES AND WILDLIFE 284 State Street, 41 SHS Augusta, ME 04333 Phone 207-287-8000 / Fax 207-287-8094

Application to Harvest and Sell Suckers in the State of Maine

	In accordance with the provisions of the Revised Statutes, Title 12, Section 12506							
Individual	Crew	License Fee Individual: \$44.00	License F	ee Crew: \$102.00	D			
Applicant Name:								
	First	Last		MI				
DOB:		Valid Fishing License #:						
(Month/D Mailing Address:								
	Street	/ Road or Box #	City or Town	State	Zip Code			
Email Address:		Phone:						
If applying for a Crew	v Permit, list crew n	nembers (Permittee must be pres	ent when gear is ter	ided):				
Name:	Valid Fishing License #:			Date of Birth	:			
Name:		Valid Fishing License #:		Date of Birth	:			
Name:		Valid Fishing License #:		Date of Birth	:			

For purposes of this permit, a "Waterbody" is considered a lake/pond (including direct tributaries) or a large river. You may choose to list a waterbody below more than once if you plan to change trap net locations during the season; however, you may **only have two trap nets placed in a single waterbody under this permit.**

Waterbody	Location of Gear (tributary name, location description, GPS coordinates, or attach map)	Town	County
1)	a)		
	b)		
2)	a)		
	b)		
3)	a)		
	b)		
4)	a)		
	b)		

DEPARTMENT USE ONLY						
APPROVED	DENIED	Department Employee:	Date:			
See Permit Conditions and Trap Net Definitions/Conditions Provided						

MAINE DEPARTMENT OF INLAND FISHERIES AND WILDLIFE 284 State Street, 41 SHS Augusta, ME 04333 Phone 207-287-8000 / Fax 207-287-8094

PERMIT TO HARVEST AND SELL SUCKERS ARE SUBJECT TO THE FOLLOWING CONDITIONS

1. Permittee and crew members must have a valid Maine fishing license.

2. Permittee must be present when gear is tended.

3. Up to four waterbodies may be listed on permit. (The area between dams on a river is considered a single waterbody).

4. The use of trap net, dip net, or spear is permitted; additional Trap Net Definition and Conditions below.

5. No more than two trap nets may be placed in a single water body at the same time under this permit.

6. Trap nets shall not be immersed prior to April 1st and must be removed by the Friday prior to Memorial Day weekend.

7. All unattended gear shall be clearly labeled with permittee's name and address.

8. Gear and storage containers may be examined by the Maine Warden Service or MDIFW Fisheries Biologists.

9. Species not covered by this permit shall be released immediately upon tending of gear.

10. All holders of a sucker harvest permit are required to submit an annual report of their fishing activity and catch information to the Department Of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife by July 31st of each year. Failure to submit a report by the deadline will result in the suspension of your privilege to obtain permits next season.

11. This permit does not give the permittee the right to use fishing gear on private property against the wishes of the property owner. You must receive written permission from appropriate landowner(s) prior to using any gear.

12. Portions of islands and submerged land immediately surrounding islands in the Penobscot River are part of the Penobscot Indian Nation Reservation, and portions of lands in the St. Croix drainage include portions of the Passamaquoddy Reservation. You must receive permission from tribal authorities and/or appropriate landowner(s) prior to using any gear.

TRAP NET DEFINITION AND CONDITIONS FOR OPERATION

For this definition, a "trap net" means a funnel-shaped net designed to intercept and retain fish in a confined space.

1. No portion of any trap net may be constructed with:

- a. Soft, flexible, non-rigid netting material with a mesh larger than 3/8 inch square (equal to 3/4 inch stretch mesh).
- b. Rigid coated wire material that is larger than 5/4 inch x 5/4 inch.

2. A trap net may have a "box", or area of confinement, no larger than 100 cubic feet.

3. Each trap net will be equipped with one or more escape panels with minimum openings of not less than 1 inch x 5 inch slots to allow the escapement of fish smaller than six inches (6") in length. These escape panels must be in the "box" or area of confinement, must be unobstructed, and must be submerged at all times.

4. No more than two trap nets may be placed in a single water body under this permit.

5. All trap nets shall be clearly marked with one or more buoys and the owner's name and address shall be clearly placed on at least one of those buoys.

6. Season: Trap nets shall not be immersed prior to April 1st and must be removed by the Friday prior to Memorial Day weekend.

7. All trap nets shall be tended at least once every 72 hours and all non-target fish or animals must be released, unharmed back into the water from where they came.

8. Trap nets must be fixed/secured gear and may not be placed in a river, stream, or brook in such a manner so as to block, or obstruct, more than 1/3 of the stream channel (wetted width) at any time. Trap nets, or any portion of these nets, must be a minimum of 50 feet apart.

9. Trap nets, or any portion of these nets, may not be placed within 150 feet of any dam (including beaver dams or debris dams). They also shall not be placed so as to obstruct boat launch areas, boating channels, swimming areas, or other areas used by recreationists.

10. Any unwanted dead fish covered by this permit must be immediately removed from the area and disposed of in a legal, safe, sanitary manner. 11. It is illegal to transport aquatic plants or fragments of aquatic plants, fish, or fish eggs. Permittee must remove plants or plant fragments, fish or

fish eggs from all nets and gear before leaving the waterbody.

12. Permittee must follow the Maine Fish and Wildlife Biosecurity Protocols issued with this permit prior to moving from one waterbody to another.